

Natalie J. Smith, MD Award for Excellence in Immunization Program Management 2024 Nomination Process

NATALIE J. SMITH, MD AWARD

The Natalie J. Smith, MD Award was established in recognition of Natalie J. Smith's outstanding management and leadership skills in the area of state and national vaccine-preventable disease programs. This award is the highest form of recognition for the NCIRD awardee immunization program managers. It recognizes the contributions of an immunization program manager who has demonstrated the high ideals, innovation, and commitment to excellence in immunization practices that characterized Dr. Smith's career. The award recognizes accomplishments and visionary leadership that have had a significant impact on achieving city, state, territory, and/or national vaccine-preventable disease goals.

ELIGIBLE CANDIDATES FOR NATALIE J. SMITH, MD AWARD

The recipient will be a current or recently retired (retired January 2020 or later) immunization program manager who is designated as the person primarily responsible for actively directing **one of the 64 city, state, or territorial immunization programs directly funded by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases.** [The 50 states, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, the Republic of Marshall Islands, Micronesia, the Northern Mariana Islands, Palau, Puerto Rico, the Virgin Islands, Chicago, New York City, Houston, San Antonio, Philadelphia.]

2004 - Lorraine Duncan (OR)	2010 - Janna Bardi (WA)	2017 - Pejman Talebian (MA)
2005 - Alice Gray (PA)	2011 - Susan Lett (MA)	2018 - Annette Aguon (GU)
2006 - Beth Rowe-West (NC)	2012 - Kelly Moore (TN)	2019 - Christine Finley (VT)
2007 - Laurel Wood (AK)	2013 - Vincent Sacco (CT)	2022 - Molly Howell (ND)
2008 - Mike Chaney (GA)	2015 - Jane Zucker (NYC)	2023 - Michele Roberts (WA)
2009 - Greg Reed (MD)	2016 - Bob Swanson (MI)	

Previous Natalie J. Smith, MD Award Recipients (not eligible for 2024 nomination):

NOMINATION PROCESS FOR NATALIE J. SMITH, MD AWARD

 Any individual or organization wishing to recognize the outstanding work of an immunization program manager may submit a nomination using the 2024 Natalie J. Smith Award Submission Form.

- All nominations must be submitted using the nomination <u>submission form</u>.
- A maximum of 2 single-spaced pages can be submitted (3 pages total, including submission form front page). If a submission exceeds 2 pages, only the content within the page limit will be considered.
- Multiple nominations for the same individual will not be considered by the selection committee. If multiple nominations are received, submitters will be notified and allowed 5 business days to re-submit one combined nomination. If a revised nomination is not submitted, the first nomination received will be designated as the official nomination for consideration by the selection committee.

SELECTION CRITERIA

Nominations will be reviewed, and a final selection will be made by members of the AIM Natalie Smith Award Selection Committee, comprised of current and former immunization program managers, one representative from the CDC/National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases, and one representative from the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials (ASTHO).

REVIEW PROCESS FOR NATALIE J. SMITH, MD AWARD

Natalie J. Smith, MD award candidates will be judged based on the nominee's:

- Background and experience in public health and immunizations. [10 points]
- Accomplishments (i.e., jobs or projects that have been completed). [30 points]
- **Impact** on the field of immunization, on the community or population, and/or in the immunization program (i.e., raising coverage rates). [30 points]
- Leadership within the program, as well as within AIM. [30 points]

DUE DATES

Submissions must be received by **11:59 pm EST on Monday, September 9, 2024.** Please email submissions to Mikaela Mendoza Pereira at <u>mpereira@immunizationmanagers.org</u> and include "Natalie Smith Submission" in the subject line.

NOTIFICATION

The recipient of the 2024 Natalie J. Smith, MD Award will be named at the 2024 AIM Leadership in Action Conference in New Orleans, LA. The recipient will receive a plaque and will have his/her name listed on a plaque displayed at the AIM national office.

QUESTIONS

Please direct any questions about the Natalie J. Smith, MD Award submission process to Mikaela Mendoza Pereira at <u>mpereira@immunizationmanagers.org</u>.